screen-shot-2017-02-21-at-11-43-06-pm

Last week as I began thinking about the types of edits and updates I would make to my blog, I found myself suffering from a severe case of blogger’s block. To be completely honest, I wasn’t sure if that was a real thing, but the Huffington Post has covered it, so I’m just gonna run with it.

After I added little widgets that link directly to my (new!) Twitter and Instagram, which I really only use for voyeur purposes, I wasn’t sure what to do next. But then I had a thought: Why not seek inspiration from the websites and blogs I like to visit?

Guess what I learned? Some of the sites, including Quartz, that I check out on the daily are also “Powered by WordPress.com,” albeit maybe the VIP version. If big names like TechCrunch and FiveThirtyEight can make WordPress great again, surely I can too lol!

screen-shot-2017-02-21-at-11-42-00-pm

I admired the clean lines and neutral color tones – with hints of bright color- these news companies employed on their sites. So I started playing around with different themes to see if I could achieve a similar pop-of-color effect. It’s not perfect now by any means, but I think it is somewhat closer to the look I was aiming for. I want the content/ the writing itself to be center stage.

I also temporarily changed the title of my blog to “digital media & culture.” The all lowercase aesthetic was inspired by our friend, danah boyd. I can’t say for certain if the name will stick, but I thought I would put that out there in case anyone in the WordPress world is looking to add a little digital media education to their life.

screen-shot-2017-02-21-at-11-57-00-pm

I plan to add more photos and finish up my “about me” page. Also I think it would be cool to add a slide show of recent posts to the top of the home page (see example from IntoTheGloss above). I will be hitting up YouTube for some step-by-step instructions because that may be difficult!

Something I have really enjoyed about this process and project is that nothing’s static. So there’s no pressure to stop exploring all that’s out there.

Bottom line: we’re going places. Definitely not there yet.

Leave a Reply

