maxresdefault.jpg

I’m gonna go ahead and day that I think there’s a lot going on in Lawrence Lessig’s essay, Remix: How Creativity Is Being Strangled by the Law. Maybe I just feel this way because I’m old school 😎, and actually read the chapter (albeit in PDF form) rather than consuming the video version. Or maybe he really does go down quite a few paths⎯ digital copyright laws, hybrid economies, essays on Shakespeare and Proust, and a few history lessons⎯ in a mere 13.5 pages.

Either way you look at it, it’s quite the feat if you ask me!

Anyway… During Lessig’s whole rant about decriminalizing copyright, I couldn’t stop thinking about the opening scene of Hackers where an eleven-year-old Dade Murphy (obviously not Jonny Lee Miller) is found guilty of hacking. And this had me reminiscing of the early days of this course.

In fact, there were a few times in piece where I found my mind wandering. But all in all, I thought Lessig made a few very good points.

My favorite line of the whole essay had to be: “We who spend our lives writing have to recognize that nonmultimedia, plain alphanumeric text in the twenty-first century is the Latin from the Middle Ages.”

Have truer words ever been spoken?

My take on this concept is something like if you don’t speak the alphanumeric lingo (both letters and numbers) of the digital age, do you even?

 

Unknown

You probably do if you made it this far. I’ve got to hand it to ya, Lessig. Great analogy… I sure didn’t get lost there. 💯

Leave a Reply

