In the weeks since I decided to take on my own “Removed” project, I have become hyperaware of everyone’s obsession with and addiction to their screens.

Tb-completely-h I have even taken to watching my friends and other random humans in my vicinity as they interact with their digital devices. Whether people want to admit it or not, there is no denying that we spend huge chunks of time zeroed in on our phones, iPads, etc. This is both when we’re alone and together.

But what is becoming ever more present to me is that we are never truly alone– as long as our devices are present. We can be reached whenever and wherever… God forbid we are off the grid for even a second.

With this in mind, I hope to shed some light and reflect on what this means for our bonds. For starters, I plan to reference danah boyd’s article that we read (and which I was critical of from the get-go). I have also found some super fascinating research, such as a 2011 study conducted at the University of Michigan and the awesome work of scholars like Sherry Turkle, the Director of the MIT Initiative on Technology and Self.

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 12.18.32 AM.png

Additionally, I want to draw on some alternate sources, including the 2014 spoken word video, “Can We Auto-Correct Humanity?

But I really want to let my photographs do some talking.

I have made a few decisions in this regard. I will not use my iPhone to take the photos, which I initially intended to do. I think this would be going a bit against the grain of my mission.

Vicki_Eric_Pickersgill_Removed.jpgI also tried taking a few photos with my phone (see above), and frankly didn’t love the focus and clarity. Also, please take not of the individual in the background. That was not intentional for the record. Anyway, in order to achieve a look similar to Pickersgill’s, I think I’ll have to take a few steps back in time and use a real deal camera.

In short, I’m really excited. I look forward to gaining some new perspectives on how the online/ digital is affecting our lives both as we use them and when we aren’t. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

